magnify Click image to view more.

Sourcing Fisher

September 12th, 2013

These lists were provided by Les Dames d'Escoffier International, from their dedicated website, Each year, the society presents an M.F.K. Fisher Award for Excellence in Culinary Writing to one deserving recipient. Mary Frances herself, a "Grande Dame" of the San Francisco Chapter, gave LDEI permission to present an award in her name. Women writers should watch for notices at to obtain the rules for entering the contest and the deadline for submission.

The following list is in chronological order based on publishing date with her first works at the top.

Serve it Forth
New York, London: Harper & Brothers, 1937
A series of essays on personal culinary experiences juxtaposed with essays on culinary historical legends and lore. Fisher’s first book, but probably not the first Fisher book to read.

The Flaw
This essay can be found in the Norton Book of Personal Essays.

Consider the Oyster
New York: Duell, Sloan & Pearce, 1941
A series of essays on the history and lore of the androgynous oyster, including recipes. If you love oysters, this one’s for you.

How to Cook a Wolf
New York: Duell, Sloan & Pearce, 1942
A series of essays on how to live and dine sanely and pleasurably during wartime and within tight budgets.

The Gastronomical Me
New York: Duell, Sloan & Pearce, 1943
A series of essays chronicling Fisher's gastronomical coming of age. This is the most autobiographical of her books and generally considered her best.

Here Let us Feast: A Book of Banquets
New York: Viking, 1946

Not Now But Now
New York: Viking, 1947
Fisher's only novel, told in four sections, each in a different time period and locale.

The Physiology of Taste, Or Meditations on Transcendedal Gastronomy
New York: Limited Editions Club (George Macy Co.) 1949
By Jean Anthelme Brillat-Savarin: A new translation by M.F.K. Fisher with Preface Annotations by the Translator and Illustrations by Sylvain Sauvage.

An Alphabet for Gourmets
New York: Viking, 1949
Published serially in Gourmet: December, 1948, January, February, March, April, July, August, September and November, 1949, an abed on the pleasures of food and drink.

The Art of Eating
New York: Macmillan, 1954
A collection of Serve It Forth, Consider the Oyster, How to Cook a Wolf, The Gastronomical Me, and An Alphabet for Gourmets, Fisher’s most important gastronomical works.

A Cordiall Water: A Garland of Odd & Old Receipts to Assuage the Ills of Man & Beast
Boston: Little, Brown, 1961
A collection of remedies, restoratives, and fortifiers interspersed with autobiographical anecdotes, considered by Fisher to be her best book.

The Story of Wine in California
Berkeley: University of Cal. Press, 1962

Map of Another Town: A Memoir of Provence
Boston: Little, Brown, 1964
About Ax-en-Provence, the French provincial capital, and the relationship between a person and a place.

The Cooking of Provincial France
New York: Time-Life Books, 1968
A commissioned work on the various provinces of France and their specialties as well as a look at how a contemporary French family balances city with country life. Written in concert with Michael Field and Julia Child.

With Bold Knife and Fork
G. P. Putnam's Sons (Perigee Books) 1969. Reprinted in April, 2010
Nearly all the material in this book originally appeared in The New Yorker in somewhat different form and focuses on recipes collected from various sources and food remembrances. This book is the closest that Fisher ever got to publishing a traditional cookbook.

Among Friends
New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1970
Six chapters of this book originally appeared as The Enclave series in The New Yorker and deal with her growing up as a minority in the Quaker town of Whittier, California.

A Considerable Town
New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1978
History and memories of Marseille and its people.

Not a Station but a Place
Synergistic Press, 1979

As They Were
New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1982
A collection of essays or "reports" of people and places known over many years.

Two Towns in Provence
New York: Vintage Books, 1983
A reprint of the two earlier books published in paperback.

Sister Age
Random House, 1984
Ten of these fifteen short stories were previously published in The New Yorker; the others in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, Prose, and Westways. All of the stories deal with aging and dying.

The Standing and the Waiting
Fallbrook, Cal. Weather Bird Press, 1985

Spirits of the Valley
New York: Targ Editions, 1985

Fine Preserving
Berkeley, Aris Book, 1986
M.F.K. Fisher's annotated edition of Catherine Plagemann's cookbook.

Dubious Honors
San Francisco: North Point Press, 1988
Published on the occasion of her 80th birthday, this is a collection of many of Fisher’s introductions to books by others as well as the introductions to her own books. For this book she has also written new introductions to the introductions.

Answer in the Affirmative & The Oldest Living Man
Vineburg, Cal.: Engdahl Typography, Canto Bello Series, No. 3, 1989

The Boss Dog: A Story of Provence
Covelo, Cal.: Yolla Bolly Press, 1990
Set in Ax-en-Provence, short vignettes of an American mother and her two daughters and their involvement with a stray dog.

Long Ago in France: The Years in Dijon
New York: Prentice Hall, 1991
Memoir of Fisher's three-year stay as a newly-wed in Dijon beginning in 1929.

To Begin Again: Stories and Memoirs 1908-1929
New York: Pantheon, 1992
Journal entries and stories, many not previously published.

Stay Me, Oh Comfort Me: Journals and Stories 1933-1941
New York: Pantheon, 1993
A collection of previously unpublished journal entries, letters, and short stories collected for publication shortly before her death.

Last House: Reflections, Dreams, and Observations 1943-1991
New York: Pantheon, 1995
A posthumous collection from notes, journals, correspondence, and short stories.


The following list is in chronological order by publishing date with the latest releases at the top. Those books available for sale on Amazon will turn into a clickable gold link when you run your cursor over the book title.

M.F.K. Fisher: Musings on Wine and other Libations
By Anne Zimmerman
Sterling Epicure, 2012

An Extravagant Hunger: The Passionate Years of M.F.K. Fisher
By Anne Zimmerman
Counterpoint, 2011

M.F.K. Fisher: An Annotated Bibliography
By Donald Zealand with an introduction by Joan Reardon
CreateSpace, 2010

M.F.K. Fisher among the Pots and Pans: Celebrating Her Kitchens.
By Joan Reardon
Berkeley: University of California Press, 2008

A Stew or a Story: An Assortment of Short Works by M.F.K. Fisher
Gathered and introduced by Joan Reardon
Shoemaker & Hoard, 2006

Poet of the Appetites : The Lives and Loves of M.F.K. Fisher
By Joan Reardon
North Point Press, 2004

Measure of Her Powers: An M.F.K. Fisher Reader
Counterpoint Press, 1999

M.F.K. Fisher and Me: A Memoir of Food and Friendship
By Jeannette Ferrary
St. Martin's Griffin; Reprint edition, 1998

A Welcoming Life: The M.F.K. Fisher Scrapbook
Compiled & Annotated by Dominque Gioia
Counterpoint, 1997

M.F.K. Fisher: A Life in Letters, Correspondence 1929-1991
Selected and compiled by Norah Barr, Marsha Moran and Patrick Moran
Counterpoint, 1997

M.F.K. Fisher, Julia Child, and Alice Waters: Celebrating the Pleasures of the Table
By Joan Reardon
New York: Harmony/Crown, 1994

Conversations with M.F.K. Fisher
By Lazar, David, Ed.
Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1992

M.F.K. Fisher: Writer with a Bite
By Kathi Wheater, producer, distributor
1992, 28 minute video

Between Friends: M.F.K. Fisher and Me
By Jeannette Ferrary
New York: The Atlantic Monthly Press, 1991

Masters of American Cookery
By Betty Fussell
New York: Times Books, 1983

Touch and Go
By Victoria Berne
(pseud. M.F.K. Fisher and Dillwyn Parrish)
New York & London: Harper & Brothers, 1939